RMU News
News Photo
RMU - Thu, Oct. 1, 2015

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, Ill. – Robert Morris University Illinois inducted its 2015 Athletic Hall of Fame class in a ceremony before the Homecoming football game at Morris Field on Saturday, September 26th.  The 2015 inductees included the 2009-2010 RMU Baseball team, Deb Brody, Maurice Hopkins, and Fati Mohammed and their bios are listed below.

 DEB BRODY - 10 year Athletic Administrator
 Deb came to Robert Morris College in 1980 as an instructor in the Secretarial Science Department  and quickly moved to a Program Director for the Accounting department in 1982. Known for her  impeccable attention to detail and old fashioned hard work ethic, Deb Brody has held multiple  positions in her 35 years at RMU, leading them all with a little wit and a lot of success.  These  positons ranged from Director of Enrollment, Director of Education, Director of Financial Services,  Vice President for Student Services, and Senior Vice President of Student Resource Administration.

 Prior to her recent retirement in the spring of 2015, Deb spent the last 10 years with direct oversight  and involvement as Senior Vice President over RMU Athletics & Performing Arts.

 Not only has Ms. Brody given over 35 years of service to Robert Morris University, but her true  passion for RMU and her lead by example demeanor have been truly infectious and admired by all. Her support, mentorship, and daily involvement over the past 10 years, along with her genuine ability to motivate and to command results, she was the backbone and driver of RMU Athletics growth and success through the past decade.


 MAURICE HOPKINS - Men's Basketball
 Maurice was honored for his individual contributions as an outstanding athlete at Robert Morris University  as a four-year athlete in the Men's Basketball program.

 As a shooting guard in his rookie season with the Eagles, Maurice was named to the CCAC All- Conference 1st Team and CCAC Conference Freshman of the Year. As of today, Maurice is still the  second leading point scorer in RMU history with 1,530 points and fourth highest in points scored in a  single season with 651 points in his rookie season.

 Maurice is also a repeat Hall of Fame inductee, as he was inducted with his 1999-2000 Robert Morris  College Men's Basketball teammates in 2010 for being the first team in RMU Men's Basketball history to  earn a NAIA National Tournament Bid and win the CCAC Conference Championship.

 Maurice completed his Bachelor of Business Administration Degree in 2003 from the University's Chicago campus.


 FATI MOHAMMED – Women's Soccer
 Fati Mohammed was honored for her efforts as an individual athlete during her tenure on the soccer  field for the Eagles from 2004-2007. 

 Fati was the Eagles goalkeeper, and is the RMU career record holder for lowest goals against  average (0.80) and highest save percentage (86%).  She also holds the record for lowest goals  against average in a season at 0.28 in her 2004 campaign as well as most shutouts in a season with  16, also in the 2004 season.

 During her four year career with RMU, Fati was named to the NAIA All-Region VII 1st team and NAIA  All-America Honorable mention team in 2006. She also was a three-time selection to the CCAC All-  Conference Team.

 Fati was previously honored & inducted into the RMU Hall of Fame along with her teammates on the 2004 NAIA National Tournament Final Four RMU Women's Soccer team. She also was a member of the Ghana National Team that competed in the 2003 and 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup Championships.

After earning her Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the RMU Chicago campus, Fati still resides in the Chicagoland area and is self-employed.



The 2009-2010 Chicago Men's Baseball Team was the team who brought RMU baseball to its most successful season ever on the field. To date, all of the team records that have been achieved by this group are still the record setters in the history of RMU Baseball.

The team was honored for thre points of distinction during the 2009-2010 season:

  • First  RMU Baseball team to advance to the NAIA National Tournament
  • First RMU Baseball team to win the CCAC Conference Tournament
  • RMU Baseball Team with the most wins in program history with a record of 40-19

Today, all of the 2009-2010 graduates are doing great things – among this group there are graphic designers, business managers, school teachers, an athletic director, coaches at various levels of the game, and a recent hire at Price Waterhouse Coopers.

 The coaches & athletes from the 2009-2010 RMU Men's Baseball Team are listed below:

Head Coach- Mike Kashirsky
Assistant Coach- Jason Becker
Assistant Coach- Pascual Santiago
Assistant Coach- Jon Mrugala
Assistant Coach- Tom Murphy
Assistant Coach- Mike Sullivan
Assistant Coach- Anthony Albano
Assistant Coach- JT Scara
Assistant Coach- Matt Whitney
Assistant Coach- Chris Murchak
#00- Brett Velon
#1- Kevin Graham
#2- Sean Thomas
#3-Al Landini
#4- Bobby Roebeck
#5- Matt Toomey
#6- John Sass
#7- Dave Moreno
#8- Sean Boyle
#9- Sean Butler
#10-Mike Klimson
#11-Dave Moreno
#12- Joe DeCauelt
#13- Marty Coyle
#14- Alex McCluskey
#15- Steve Lorenz
#16- Anthony Senor
#17- Omar Cabral
#18-Greg Morril
#19- Ryne Kman
#20- Kyle Henning
#21- Dan Martinez
#22- Tyler Thompson
#23- Cory Schlensker
#24- Eric Bricker
#26- Erik Miller
#27- Anthony Scarlatta
#28- Brandon Howard
#29- Jorge Garza
#30- Ryan Rowe
#31- David Leopke
#33- Gary Bjorklund
#35- Joe Albano
#38- Kevin McDonald
#39- Brian Johnson
#41- John Murphy
#42- Jason Jacobs
#44- Jawanza Young
#47- Bronson Gahagan
#51- Pat Devereaux
#55- Hector Babilonis
#56- Darry Duggar
#99- Matt Wagner